Dream Killers or Motivators

One of the most difficult things about having Cerebral Palsy is having so many physical limitations.

 When my little brother took my toy away, I wanted to hit him, but I couldn’t.  Angry and frustrated, I went to my mother, hoping that she would  come to my defense.  Instead of  making Gary give me my toy, she said, “If you go and play with something else, pretty soon he’ll want it.”

I squealed with delight a few minutes later when her plan worked.  Besides getting my toy back, I began to learn how I could use my mind to figure out how to accomplish the things I could physically do.

 Limitations can be dream killers, or you can use your frustration to motivate you to push yourself toward your dreams.

2 thoughts on “Dream Killers or Motivators

  1. I love the way your mother taught you to use your mind to work things out, Lyla. Her direct intervention would have solved the immediate problem but instead she gave you a skill to use your entire life. Like that old bromide: Give someone a fish and you’ve given him a meal. Teach him how to fish and you’ve fed him for life (or something like that).

Leave a Reply

