Moving Forward

It seems like only yesterday that I celebrated my 60th birthday.  But the other day I turned another year older.  Birthdays, like New Year’s Eve, can be a time for making new resolutions or dreaming about what will happen in the future.  Unfortunately, without a plan to accomplish my dreams, they have become casualties of my busy life. 

Looking back over the past years, I sometimes have wrestled with a nagging feeling that I haven’t accomplished much.  Rather than momentarily scaling back on my activities, I have decided to start filtering my activities through the lens of my overall goals.  Staying busy out of fear of failure is like being on a treadmill, it’s easy to look busy but you don’t get anywhere.  Fear and guilt of any kind, are like loops of a shag rug.  If you don’t have boundaries around your life or schedule, it’s like getting your toe caught in a loose loop of a shag rug.  You might eventually fall flat on your face, because you suddenly realize you’re not going anywhere. 

My fear of failing to live up to my expectations has kept me from moving forward in the rhythm God desires me to move in.  When I’ve surrendered my desire to move quickly or accomplish things; as he shows me how to breakdown the tasks into steps I can handle, it’s as if He takes scissors to the cycle of nonproductive busyness.  For example, every day activities seem to have whittled away a big chunk of each day.  Instead of getting frustrated and stuck in self pity, I’ve learned to be grateful that I can do it on my own.  I’ve also learned that I can use some of that “wasted time” to grow myself by listening to teachings or audio books.  When I’m willing to let Him lead me on small step at a time, I get more done and have a lot more fun.   

            What have been some reasons you’ve gotten distracted from the path God has called you too?  Please feel free to share what has helped you to refocus.

4 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. ladyjanewest

    Yes, Lyla, I let things get in the way of what I should be doing, also. But, like you, when I let the Lord lead, my life seems to work seamlessly and things go better. Great blog. Thanks.

  2. Hi Lila,
    I just located your blog site and have read each entry. Thank you for sharing your words of wisdom with me and with many. Good to see you at Jerry and Bettie’s 60th wedding anniversary last night.
    Blessings to you,
    Laura

  3. I love this post. Thank you for the insights. I needed to hear them today.

    Hugs to you.

  4. Lyla, When I stumble I often wonder where God is. God allows me to make mistakes and learn from them generally always reminding me that God is next to me suffering alongside and smiling when I’m on the right track. I get depressed when I feel like I don’t know why I do what I do. Where am I going, what is my purpose, but I remember that God has wonderful plans for me and I must trudge onward. If I don’t, then i have failed to bring reason to my birth.

Leave a Reply

