What Does Freedom Look Like

 It’s been interesting to see how the value of some forms of freedom change, depending on circumstances.  For instance, since my nephew was just deployed to Afghanistan, the cost of my freedom as an American means has greater value on this 4th of July.  

 At a young age, as a child, with cerebral palsy,  the pain and the struggle of therapy as overshadowed by the hope of  new freedom gained through the ability to walk, or feed myself themselves sometimes yields. When   For that matter, learning a new skill, for any of us can give us more freedom new freedom. 

As a mother, I always had to depend on others to take my daughter and I where we needed to go.   But, I’ll always remember the sense of freedom I experienced on an evening shortly after my daughter got her driver’s license.  We had the freedom to go on an outing by ourselves. 

 When I got my scooter and I could go out and enjoy a warm summer’s evening by myself, it felt like freedom.  But I soon discovered my scooter was very heavy and difficult to transport, so when I found out that a scooter called Go-Go, would come apart and fit in the back of a small car, it didn’t take long to decide to purchase it.

Often the more freedom I experience the more I want.  This can be both good and bad.  Focusing on the things I want to do but can’t have or attain, can make me feel disheartened and lead me into trouble.  The inward struggle this causes is often intense, but God reminds me in Galatians 5;1 where permanent freedom comes from.

   It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

3 thoughts on “What Does Freedom Look Like

  1. I love this perspective on freedom.

  2. A mysterious problem with my ankle that acts like a strain but didn’t come about by twisting it or tripping is beginning to cause me to re-think the Fourth of July. I had 3 optional activities I might attend, but may not be able to go to any of them because of this injury. If I don’t, will I be bummed out? Lonely? I am trying to overcome the bad habit of complaining because I have been learning how destructive it is. It shuts down the power of faith. I have been learning that every problem that comes, regardless of the source or cause, is an opportunity to grow stronger–a preparation for successful battle against the enemy of our souls. It is possible I could be healed by the holiday, especially if my attitude improves enough. But more importantly is my attitude itself. I am free to choose how I view things. If I choose negativity (which is highly popular in our society), I wrap myself in chains. It is scary to notice how much time the conversation of both strangers and friends is spent in complaining. I am certainly guilty of it!
    There are many threats to our freedom in this country and in the world at this time in history. I pray we see them, learn how to effectively fight them, and actually do what we learn we must do. I don’t think the roles are the same for each of us. When injustice rules, some say the thing to do is take up arms against our rulers. Others say that we should not retaliate because it is unchristian, but love and, if necessary, be martyred. We hear mostly about the “founding fathers” who rebelled in war against England. Yet how many prayer warriors paved the way for righteousness in our nation near the time of the Revolution and beyond? I hear stories of whole towns or cities swept clean of crime because of revivals. What guns could bring that about? So much to consider, so much still to learn… Thank you for this discussion, Lyla, and for asking the question on Facebook of what freedom means to us, and what the 4th of July means beyond fireworks and picnics.If I sit at home on Independence Day, I can concentrate on freedom’s true meanings rather than mope about the less important things I miss.

  3. Yes you are exactly right! Our freedom does not depend on us. Our God is our freedom.
    Thank you for sharing this and keep passing it on…

Leave a Reply

