The Arms That Give Me Wings

Memories of my Dad have made me think of my Heavenly Father.   As a child with cp walking has always been difficult, especially on our family farm.

 

As a child, he taught me how to put my hands around his neck when he carried me.   Sometimes the wind was so strong I couldn’t breathe, but he sheltered me from the wind when I buried my face in his shoulder.

 

Sometimes, I attempted to help him, so he could go faster.  But although I wanted to help, I made carrying me difficult because my body.  It had the opposite effect, because my body stiffened up.  So he’d need to remind me to relax and let him carry me so he could take me to where I needed to be.

 

We often try to solve our problems by ourselves, but Our Heavenly Father wants us to come to him when we are broken.  Like the strong Montana wind that made me feel as if I could suffocate, my mind can become overwhelmed with the ideas that bombard my mind.

 

Yet when we are in His arms, we receive the wings to fly.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Arms That Give Me Wings

  1. This was a beautiful picture of our Daddy’s love! Thank you for sharing that memory Lyla.

  2. Your dad sounds like he was a special man. Glad he and your mom taught your brother Gary well! 🙂 Love ya!

Leave a Reply

