Loaves of love

 

This week I was featured on the Facebook page of the Governor’s Home Care Commission . When it was posted on Facebook I was surprised at how many people responded.  Although I’ve been on the Commission for a number of years some of my friends did not know that I was a part of it at all.  I need to confess that at times it’s difficult to know if serving in that capacity is helping anyone, nevertheless I know it does.

 

There are so many activities  and groups to be a part of, runs, walks, fundraisers; it’s hard to know which ones you should really get behind, and which ones you should let just slide by. We are constantly bombarded with causes to get involved or donate to all of the time.  For example, a couple of weeks ago, I took part in the 9th Annual Walk, Roll, and Run Fundraiser for United Cerebral Palsy of Oregon and Southwest WashingtonIt bugged me that I spent hours putting information on Facebook about my event, with specific invites to donate, and no one responded. It brought up feelings of being in this role and feeling abandoned.  In the end, though, it helped me to realize that there are so many great causes, and that we can only respond to those that pull on our hearts.

 

Now the ball is in my court. Last night I was reminded that there is the fundraiser/walk for diabetes. My heart goes out to my friend’s 2 year daughter who has this dreadful disease; can my little donation make a difference? I know that it can and it will.

 

My other friend JoAnne has been working on a documentary called, Honored to the End, which pays tribute to veterans who have served; just in time for Veterans Day (if you’d like to learn more about it, her website is http://www.bordermountain.org/). For every donation she would like to put the name of your loved, along with their story on a Wall of Honor.

 

In a way it’s like the story of the loaves and fishes in Matthew 14. When we offer a little bit, whether it’s time, money or an encouraging word to someone, God can indeed multiply it.

Matthew 14:17-20

“We have here only five loaves of bread and two fish,” they answered. “Bring them here to me,” he said. And he directed the people to sit down on the grass. Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to the disciples, and the disciples gave them to the people. They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over. 

 

Lyla at the Walk and Roll

3 thoughts on “Loaves of love

  1. I love this, Lyla. Indeed, a little can become a lot and the encouragement multiplies. Thank you for including my story in this blog too. You DO make a difference. Thank you for the reminder that we need to take action to show support.

  2. You are so right. God Bless you for all the work you do and for spreading His Word!

  3. Great points, Lyla. We each do what we can with what we have. And in doing so, God is honored.

    Blessings,
    Daphne

Leave a Reply

