Love is Calling

Lyla walking down the aisle

My daughter just celebrated her first wedding anniversary. It was a marvelous day! Looking through all of the wedding pictures has filled my heart with joy throughout the year.  But when we looked at the ones with myself in them, it was a different story.  Rachael would often say, “Mom, I really like this one or that one,” but there was always something about the pictures that I was in that I didn’t like. I could always find I something I wanted change about myself.  So finally, Rachael asked me, “What is it that you don’t like about them?”  I said, “Look at my crooked arm, or look at my feet,” or look at this or that. Finally she said, “Mom! Stop it! I really like these pictures of you!”

My disability has been incorporated into the lives of Rachael and I. It has changed our lives but not diminished them, actually just the opposite. Her wedding day was a great celebration of friendship and love.  A year later as I look at the pictures and see when my friend Chuck walked me down the aisle, I am no longer fixated on my ‘crooked arm,’ but instead I celebrate that I got to experience that wonderful day. Isn’t it amazing how God can change our perspective? My disability is just part of my story, a part that has given both my daughter and I strength.

Yesterday when I was in church, I was reminded that we often hesitate to go to God because of our imperfections. We try to clean ourselves up on our own. That is about as easy as me straightening out my right, withered arm! It doesn’t work. In fact the longer you look at your own imperfections, the bigger they become. But when we begin to understand how much God loves us, everything else fades away. God doesn’t see our imperfections and sin, because of what Jesus has done for those who believe. All we need to do is come because He just wants to wrap us up in His robes of righteousness. I don’t know why that is often so hard, but it is! Like my daughter, I can just hear God say, “Lyla! Stop it! Come to me and receive the love I have for you.”

Isaiah 1:18

“Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
they shall become like wool.”

5 thoughts on “Love is Calling

  1. Wonderful, Lyla. Thanks for sharing–and that’s a beautiful photo!

  2. Oh, and Raincountrywriter is Dawn Shipman, from OCW! Just so you know…:)

  3. This is awesome! I love the picture of you with Chuck. That’s a killer dress. You are beautiful, friend of my heart. I am so glad you are you. I agree with Rachael and God. 🙂

  4. Lyla, what a beautiful post. Just what I needed to hear. And I love the photo.

  5. You are amazing.

Leave a Reply

