Spring is in the air

flowers in the spring

Spring is a time of expectation. Seniors are excited because of their upcoming graduation, people look forward to the warm weather just ahead, and many engaged couples are eagerly planning their summer weddings.

I am sitting on my patio looking at my flower pots on this beautiful day. There are a few particular pots that really make me smile. One has flowers that survived the winter! The flowers were given to me last year, just before my daughter got married. They are from a friend who I’ve known for over 30 years. When she gave them to me, she said, ‘You need something special!’  It was an unexpected surprised when I saw those flowers bloom again this year, because I couldn’t believe they had made it through the cold months.

I’ve learned that when things don’t happen right when we think that they should, it is discouraging, but we have to see it as a time of preparation. This time is so important. Parents look forward to the time when they can meet their baby, but if the baby is born prematurely, there are often complications.  When plans are not coming together, it is like wintertime, we want to see our plans and purposes bloom, but the winter months are needed in order to develop the strength and skills we will need for the coming spring.

Years ago, when I graduated hoping to work in the field of social services, I found out quickly that I needed more than a college degree to be able to get the type of job I wanted. I never did make a living doing this work, but years later, I look back and see that I have used my education in many other ways. At the time, life was as dark as an Alaskan winter, because all I saw were the brick walls I kept hitting. Several years later I realized that even though things did not go the way I had planned or in my timing, God had used my training in other ways and had fulfilled my heart’s desire to mentor others through my work with Good Samaritan Ministries, Border Mountain, and later on Joni and Friends Ministry. I see now that my flowers have bloomed, and they are more beautiful than I could have imagined.

Don’t short-circuit the process because it is where crucial skills and character are developed.

Ecclesiastes 3: 1-2

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: 

a time to be born and a time to die,

a time to plant and a time to uproot.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spring is in the air

  1. You nailed it again!! Bravo!

  2. I loved this Lyla and I may be quoting you sometime on “Don’t short-circuit the process because it is where crucial skills and character are developed.” Lovely!

Leave a Reply

