Waves of Mercy

Lyla feet in water

I sat on the beach in St. Croix last year on my birthday with my feet in the sand, watching the waves crash over and over. I remember feeling the water wash over my feet and feeling the warmth of the sun. I was surrounded by friends and enjoying the beautiful scenery as I savored that moment.  A few days ago, I celebrated my birthday again, and I woke up humming the tune ‘Every Move I Make’ with the phrase ‘Waves of mercy, waves of grace’ repeating over and over. As the tune drifted through my head, I could see all of the ways God has blessed me throughout my life, but the day-to-day struggles I faced felt pretty overwhelming at times.

When I am in the struggle, it is hard to keep my head above the water, but it helps to remember verses that encourage me and lift my eyes above the storm. In the moment, as I see the steps in front of me, my knees are shaking and I think, “How is this going to turn out?” Just today, I feel like I am in another storm, and I have a choice to make. I can choose whether or not to be swept under the wave of discouragement because I want things to happen my way, or let the waves of mercy wash over me and release my expectations.

Why do we seem to always forget that we have that choice? Is it pride or is it fear? Pride and fear put barriers up between us and God’s waves of grace. The minute we surrender, those walls come down and those waves wash over us. What helps you surrender more quickly at certain times than you have at other times?

I read this verse recently and it is my theme verse for this year, because the Lord continues to do more than I could ever dream in my life. I just slow him up a little bit by wanting to do it my way instead of His!

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21.  

8 thoughts on “Waves of Mercy

  1. I arrived at your blog by scrolling through travel posts, but this has blessed me with more than just a view of St. Croix. I am in a storm of my own right now, and your thoughts are very timely. Thank you! Continue to be a blessing to others, and belated best wishes for your birthday!

    • I’m glad my blog brought you encouragement! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. May the obstacles in your life lead you to opportunities for personal growth and freedom! God bless!

  2. I wish you could have been on that beach this birthday, too. I love this blog and your verse for the year. I am going to claim it, too. You are loved, dear friend.

  3. mary anne moshofsky

    This really gave me perspective from the very next room!

  4. Brenda Throckmorton

    Love the verse God bestowed on you this year. God be glorified as He walks you through this blessed time blessed time with Him

  5. I am so blessed to know you Lyla! God bless you today and always!

Leave a Reply

