Celebrations in May

prom

There are always kids that don’t get to go to prom. I could have been one of those kids, but instead of staying home, three days before the prom, I asked a boy to take me! I probably put the poor guy on the spot when I asked him, but he said he would! I was thrilled, but it also put my mom in a tailspin because we lived in the country, and she had to drive 40 miles to the store to buy fabric to make my dress!

I think that was my favorite memory of prom; how my mother made me look like a princess. The prom itself was a fun night, and I was happy to be there with my friends. I went to a small high school so everyone knew each other and it was fun to be included.

A couple of weeks ago I saw a post on Facebook from my friend, Karla, about a work party that she was having to prepare for a prom that would be held for kids affected by disability in the Portland area. I knew I wanted to get involved, so my friends and I went to a couple of work parties to help make some decorations for the ‘Candy-land’ theme they had this year. At the work party, I was reluctant to paint, because I can’t even write very legibly, but after sitting there for about 20 minutes, I decided to try. Lo and behold, even though I couldn’t paint exactly in the lines, there were others to help touch up what I started and I helped move the projects along faster.

As I get ready to go to the prom on Friday night, I wondered, “What will I be able to do to help tonight?” As soon as we got there, my friend and I found ourselves sitting at the registration table signing everyone into the prom, and although I couldn’t write, I gave instructions on how people needed to fill out the form.  It was a great place to be because we got to see everyone come in all decked out and so excited to be at their prom! Later I found out that one of the organizers had been wondering all day who would be at the registration table. It was great to feel needed as well as see everyone dance and have a great time!

Sometimes taking the chance to get involved can be a little scary because you always face the possibility of rejection or failure. My mother and the many mothers that helped put together the prom this Friday have another thing in common with me, because we saw opportunities to meet kids’ needs and we got involved. Seeing the needs of our kids makes us go beyond our comfort zone and though it can be a little scary, it can bring so much joy!

 

6 thoughts on “Celebrations in May

  1. Rachael Gies

    Great blog! I know I’ve seen that pictures of you going to prom somewhere, we’ll have to find it! 🙂

  2. So glad to see Joni and Friends coming alongside and supporting such a great event!! I loved your stories woven in and out! Your mom rocks! What did your dress look like Lyla?

  3. 2brennyt@comcast.net

    Thank you for your uplifting blog you encourage so many by just being you

    God’s Grace and Mercy fill us with hope and thankfulness

  4. Lyla, it was so much fun painting with you! And VERY proud that you painted with us.!!

  5. Jennifer Wengeler

    Yes, Lyla Such a encourager you are. Like CHerree, I am was honored to help, and share some beautiful time with some wonderful women.. You bring joy and laughter wherever you go..Love you tons sister!!!

  6. You’re amazing Lyla. I love your blog. You inspire.

Leave a Reply

