Fixing Leaky Faucets

Joyce Meyers was talking last week about how Satan is a deceiver, and she went onto say that there are nagging thoughts in our mind like, “You are not good enough, or you are not performing well enough,” that are most certainly from Satan. It caused me to think about John 10:10 in a completely new light. “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

When my focus is wrong, negative thoughts eat away at me and rob me of my peace of mind and creativity. Some thieves, are blatantly overpowering, others are quiet yet just as disruptive. Thoughts that start with the phrase I wish or I should are like a leaky faucet; always in my mind and always needing attention.

I’ve realized that when I hear these phrases, it’s because my focus is wrong. Just like it is important to take care of the plumbing in your house, it is necessary to interrupt the lies that want to filter through our minds. Even one drip at a time raises your water bill, so it is important to take care of fixing that leaky faucet. Acknowledging that my focus is wrong is the first step in receiving the grace God has given me to move forward.

As I watch my daughter and my friend Jill prepare to have their babies, I have a similar sense of anticipation over the growth of our Joni and Friends Portland Area ministry. I find myself thinking, “Is anything I can do to help this to be more fruitful?” I can always think of things I should be doing better, but I have to press through the drudgery of the everyday by looking at the promise of things to come!

For example, I keep meeting people who are like-minded in both my passion for disability ministry and my writing! The encouragement we share in these relationships help to break the spell of negative thoughts that creep in so quietly, but are as loud as a sonic boom if left alone!

As we get ready to celebrate the Fourth of July and we hear the fireworks booming, let us look for ways that we can dislodge our negative thoughts and quiet them with the encouragement of God and others!

6 thoughts on “Fixing Leaky Faucets

  1. So very true! I’ll be tweeting this!

  2. Lyls you wsiting, praying, and love of your fellow man has always been an encouragement to me. It shows me God’s Grace which always inspires and gives grat joy. Continue sharing and growing girlfriend God smiles down though you.

  3. Lyla you waiting, praying, and love of your fellow man has always been an encouragement to me it shows me God’s Grace which always inspires and gives great joy. Continue sharing and growing girlfriend God smiles down though you.

  4. Lyla, I can understand this 100%, it is a huge struggle I think most of us have. I have never felt like I “fit” in anywhere, but being in lives like yours, I can start to feel like I am a part of something much bigger than myself CAnt wait until Camp!! Love you always…
    Cherree.

  5. Lyla, I can understand this 100%, it is a huge struggle I think most of us have. I have never felt like I “fit” in anywhere, but being in lives like yours, I can start to feel like I am a part of something much bigger than myself Can’t wait until Camp!! Love you always…
    Cherree.

Leave a Reply

