The Wait is Over!

lyla and hannah

Fifteen days ago, I got a call from my son-in-law, Vince, that my daughter Rachael was in labor! It was unexpected because Hannah was not supposed to arrive for another three weeks. I was so excited, I couldn’t sleep all night. The whole next day I carried my phone everywhere and there wasn’t any news for hours and hours. I tried to pass the time watching the last U.S. World Cup game with friends, but that was no match for what was really on my mind that whole time!  Then I got a text that labor had slowed down and that Rachael and Vince had actually taken a nap while I had sat on pins and needles waiting! Later that night, as I was getting ready for bed, I got a text saying, ‘Hannah Mae is here!’ So instead of going to bed, I went to see my precious granddaughter.

Wouldn’t it be a lot easier to go through the hard times that we have in life if we knew what happiness it would bring us in the future? I had no idea how delightful it would be to hold Hannah when I was chasing my own little two year old so many years ago.  At the time, it was exasperating, especially because I have Cerebral Palsy, and there was no way I could catch Rachael! But right now, holding my granddaughter brings me nothing but joy.

My little granddaughter, Hannah Mae, was in such a hurry to join this world, that she was born three weeks early. Although her parents could hardly wait to get her home, her little lungs were not quite ready, so she spent the first 10 days of her life in the NICU. I was quite proud of them as they patiently waited for her lungs to get stronger and three days ago their wait was over and she came home!

Just like my daughter Rachael had to go through a long and hard labor to bring Hannah into this world, and then wait to bring her daughter home we all have to go through many difficult experiences, but often without the understanding that it is these very struggles that produce the beautiful gifts and skills that God wants to give to us that will lead us to future joy! What gives you the strength to hold onto God’s promise of future joy during your hard times? Have you developed a way to hang onto the hope that God offers us in every difficult circumstance? Please share these in the comments below and spread His joy!

7 thoughts on “The Wait is Over!

  1. That is a very appropriate analogy and insight! In response to your question: I have some painful battles that I have been in prayer over, for decades. The way I hang onto the hope that God has given is to remind myself of the other long-term battles in my life that God has been victorious in. It helps me focus on the testimony of other victories instead of sinking me like an anchor, in deep despair.

  2. Beautifully written Lyla – God Bless your family and grandparenting is the best for sure, I love being a Grandma and can’t believe the Joy each time I see my grandson.

  3. Thank you Lyla! And congratulations!! When I stray away from God, I go and remember the times that He has come through for me.

  4. Beautiful Lyla I am sure you are going to love being a Grandma. What a blessing!

  5. Remembering his past faithfulness helps me to wait in times of uncertainty.

  6. Thank you for this encouraging post. And congratulations on your new grand daughter.

Leave a Reply

