A Fresh Breeze

For some reason I’ve been thinking about dryer sheets and the fresh fragrance of the air after a rain shower in the middle of the hot summer day. These seem to be very random thoughts, especially after my wonderful week at the Oregon Christian Writers Conference. So I thought, what do these two things have to do with anything? Then I realized the fresh scent is the encouragement from friends that are on the same journey as I am. It is the smiles, the victories, and the struggles we’ve shared together that bring encouragement to everyone along the path.

One of my dearest friends, April McGowan, was presented the Cascade Awards Writer of Promise Award. Besides enjoying her writing, she inspires me, because each day she struggles with an immunity disorder that could keep her from living life to the fullest. Instead, she lets her struggles bring a richness and depth to her writing, as well as her relationship with others. Receiving her encouragement, and the encouragement of others, seems like a breath of fresh air.

Before the conference I was excited, because this year I didn’t have an agenda other than to see friends and learn. The input I received from others gave me new hope and I appreciated how they looked at my writing with new eyes.

As I get ready to go to the Joni and Friend’s Family Camp it is my hope that I can encourage others the same way that I have been encouraged this past week.

“But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.” 1 Peter 3:15.

5 thoughts on “A Fresh Breeze

  1. Oh, Lyla. You’ve made me cry. God’s so good to give us the strength to carry on, and carries us when we’re too done to keep going. You’re an inspiration and blessing in my life. May He continue to richly bless you sweet friend.

  2. Lyla, it was so great to see you. The conference was SO encouraging and fun.

  3. Brenda Throckmorton

    I forget the with gentleness and respect occasionally and I needed that reminder today.  I Praise God for His Love and Kindness and I am blessed by how often that He flows those things to me thru you Lyla have fun this week.

    Thank you and God’s love fill you today.

Leave a Reply

