Sharper Vision

 

Lyla's new glasses

(These are my new glasses that won the vote)

I was surprised to find out last week yet another thing that has improved with age…my vision! After examining my eyes, my eye doctor said, “Your prescription is too strong!” I said, “Really?!” He said, “Yes, sometimes that happens when we get older.” I thought the exact opposite happened!

I hadn’t been to the eye doctor for five years, and I was quite satisfied with how I was seeing, except my old glasses bit the dust, so I had to go in to see the doctor. I had no idea that my prescription was too strong because I had grown accustomed to the way that I saw over the last few years.  I think there are a lot of things in life that shock us when we first experience them, but then over time, they just become part of the norm.

Just like my vision had improved over time, sometimes we don’t notice when our perception changes because we are so stuck in our current way of seeing things. When we have secrets they limit our freedom and our growth. When we continue to minimize them, we might feel ok for awhile but we still know they are there. We don’t want to address the problem until it becomes so painful that we can’t stand it anymore.

God knows our hearts and he also knows the perfect time to reach down and address the issues that we may have become oblivious to overtime. This story in Mark 8 shows how God uses the natural, and sometimes mundane things to help us to see clearly.

Mark 8:22-25

22 They came to Bethsaida, and some people brought a blind man and begged Jesus to touch him. 23 He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”

24 He looked up and said, “I see people; they look like trees walking around.”

25 Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly.

2 thoughts on “Sharper Vision

  1. I love your blog it truly speaks to me thank you. You bless me .

  2. I’m glad it encouraged you

Leave a Reply

