Let Freedom Ring

My precious granddaughter Hannah just turned one.  Her parents have lived in the vicinity so I’ve been able to see her quite often.  But they’ve been traveling so I haven’t seen Hannah for about  six weeks.  Oh my goodness she’s changed so much during that time.  She’s become quite a little jabber box and she crawls like a little trooper.  I have a feeling  she’ll be running any day now!  When she was born three weeks early, her little lungs weren’t ready for the world, so she spent a bit of time in the NICU.  Fortunately,  she fine was ready to leave the hospital.

Since this week we are celebrating the fourth of July, I’ve been pondering what does it mean to be free?  A few weeks ago, students graduated from High School and many of them are feeling FREE! Freedom is a great thing and everyone interprets the word differently.

Some of those kids will make good choices, but they’ll also make choices that will make their lives differently.  My friend Rebekah, and  I met at a Joni and Friends, and both deal with Cerebral Palsy. Like many people we both have  wondered what life would be like without physical limitations . She has a great attitude and spends hours and hours in painful therapy because of a dream she has to walk or even have a little bit more mobility.

My definition of independence has changed throughout my life. As a child my therapists and mom worked hard to teach me many tasks of daily living, that other kids quickly learn and take for granted. I was determined to be as independent as I could be.  In many ways, my  determination has payed off. Although there have been disappointments, I’ve been able to raise a daughter and live alone.

As I’m get older and I’m figuring out what I need, I have an internal battle that makes me uptight. This part of my journey seems as rough as a country road, because I didn’t want to give up freedom that I used to have.  This journey is just as important as physical therapy. It’s produced a different kind of freedom. I’m learning (once again) the freedom of acceptance is much more powerful than denial. It’s given me strength  and  freedom to choose what to do next.  I have several options but if I couldn’t see them until I accepted my current situation. If I didn’t accept my current situation it would have would prevented me from living freely.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”- Galatians 5:1

When I was I younger I used to get really frustrated with what I couldn’t do. I thought “My life wouldn’t be like this, if I didn’t have C.P.” I cringe when i think of missing out on everything God’s blessed me with, including being Rachael’s mom and Hannah’s grandma.

What does Freedom mean to you and do you consider it worth fighting for?

4 thoughts on “Let Freedom Ring

  1. Very good tie in to freedom. I think we often have to revisit old territory because we are learning new things in areas we thought were all taken care of. Silly us! Blessings, Marion

  2. What a thoughtful post. It’s so true that we need to understand when acceptance is part of the freedom within. Thank you.

  3. We have such a limited understanding of the freedom God wants us to receive from Him.

Leave a Reply

