In Season and Out of Season

Bright and early one morning, it might not have been early but it was way earlier than when I usually get up. There were men digging in the dirt and laying pipes right outside my bedroom window. I wondered what are they doing out there that early? Throughout the rest of the week they’ve been busy planting new trees and shrubs. It’s the end of July and some people I’ve talked to say that it’s not the right time of the year to plant plants. To which I replied, “I don’t know anything about it but I bet they know what they’re doing”.

I’ve got some of my own plants around my place too. They were doing pretty well until one of my friends left me in charge of the plants for a couple weeks. I watered them but I forgot about the pesky little aphids that wreak havoc on my flowers unless I spray them with a concoction we made up of water and a drop of dish-washing soap. So I lost a plant.

This morning as I was out and about in my scooter I stopped to chat with one of my neighbors. From the sidewalk in front of her patio I could see a sign and I asked her what it said. It said “Your mind is a garden, your thoughts are the seeds, you can grow flowers or you can grow weeds, take every thought captive”-2 Corinthians 10:5.

For the past few days I’ve been thinking how much life seems to be full of struggles. Life seems out of control sometimes and we don’t even know what to do next. That is when thoughts like “I can’t do this and I can’t do that”, or “a catastrophe is about to occur!”, are like aphids that eat the plants. You don’t see them effects right away, but left unattended they can certainly have a negative impact. Theses thoughts strip away your joy and peace. Sometimes when this happens it’s hard to stay connected with the truth. When we take every thought captive God will help us through the difficult times of life.

Earlier in the week some of my online friends were saying how much they like African Violets when they are in bloom. Some were saying that theirs were not blooming and they didn’t know what to do. So they read online how to take care of them. Sometimes I feel like that plant and I want to bloom but there’s something stopping the process. The African Violets are alot like us and when we need to figure out what we need to bloom. Sometimes God uses the hard times in our lives to get rid of the weeds from our heart so that his character can grow in us. I’m excited to see what is going to be blooming in your life and in mine.

4 thoughts on “In Season and Out of Season

  1. Beautiful! Thank you, once again, for sharing so wonderfully! blessing you!

  2. What a joy for Renee and I to meet you at OCW! I so enjoyed our times together. All God’s best the rest of this summer, fall and beyond! 🙂

  3. Beautiful insight!

Leave a Reply

