A Key to Freedom

coffee-cup-laptop-notebookI type very slowly because of cerebral palsy.  Years ago when I heard about voice recognition software I thought it was the answer to my problem.  Unfortunately, when I tried it,  I was very disappointed.  No matter how hard I workedit did not type what I wanted  The only thing it accomplished was to  cause a big pity  party.

Several years have gone by.  I was delighted when I discovered that my new cell phone responded to my voice.  Last week a friend of mine suggested I try the word recognition program that came with my computer.  I’ve been practicing it for a of couple days.  Sometimes I think it is taking too long and maybe I would be better off not to spend time trying to use it.  On the other hand when I focus on the progress I’ve made and the benefits it could bring,  I don’t want to give up.   

My life is full of opportunities to keep doing what I have always done or try something new.  Although learning a new skill is difficult, we will become stronger if we persevere. 

Do you have situations that frustrate you?  If the way to change them is difficult, will you keep trying or will you give up?

3 thoughts on “A Key to Freedom

  1. I gave up trying to live when I lost my leg, but by the Grace of God, I’m here. So I can completely understand this blog!! love you!

  2. I used to think that something was wrong if things were difficult. Now, I’m beginning to realize that life isn’t supposed to be easy. The challenges are what strengthen us. Good job facing a challenge and conquering it! Doesn’t it feel good? 😄

  3. That post sounds familiar! Good message. Keep posting! Blessings, Marion

Leave a Reply

