Splat!

 

A friend and I went down to Eugene on Friday afternoon so we could attend the Oregon Christian Writers Conference the next day.  Before we settled in for the night we decided to go and eat.  Since we didn’t know the area well, it took us quite a while to find a restaurant.  Our frustration grew as we kept seeing “One Way” sign after “One Way” sign.  Of course it seemed like the signs were always in the opposite direction of where we were hoping to go.  

We finally found a restaurant and parked the car.  The spot we found was quite far for me to walk and I had a feeling walking to the restaurant on my crippled legs would leave me winded.   I should have voiced my concern, but I ignored it, thinking if I walked slowly I would be OK.   Unfortunately, just a few feet from the car, I went splat.

Thankfully it wasn’t raining and my friend Karla was holding onto my arm so I didn’t hit the gro
und too hard.  Just as she was trying to figure out how to get me up a woman stopped and offered to help us.  As she reached for me, she said in a kind voice, “My grandma had trouble walking and you remind me of her.”   

There are all kinds of reasons why we stumble and fall.  Each day we are faced with the choice to give in to our own pride or listen and act on what the Spirit is saying.  For example, many times we purchase things we don’t need or that aren’t in our budget.  We may feel good for a brief time, but it usually leads to tension in our hearts.  I could have avoided my fall, but instead I ignored my concern about walking that far and went splat.  Whatever our circumstances, when we give these moments to God He can bring insight and healing.  What are some things God has shown you when you’ve gone splat in an area of your life?

splat

3 thoughts on “Splat!

  1. Love it!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Well thought!

  3. Lyla, I’ve fallen on my face so many times – not always physical, but emotionally and sometimes spiritually. It is a humbling experience. One time Bill and I and our kids were coming out of a restaurant. As we were headed toward the curb, I thought Bill was holding on to my wheelchair handles. He wasn’t, and I rolled right off the curb and landed in some oil that a car had leaked. That was very humbling, as a number of people watched us from the window. Some came out and offered to help. I survived and learned from the experience. Mom had an expression – “Keep on keeping on.” That’s what we have to do, through the good times and not so good times. Thank you for your example of doing that with grace!

Leave a Reply

